





Dear Periclean Presidents, Provosts, Program Directors, and Colleagues,

After more than 18 years of strong leadership, Jan Liss has announced her intention to retire in Spring 2024. Words cannot fully convey the Project Pericles Board of Directors' deepest appreciation and respect for all she has accomplished to build such a strong organization. The programs, finances and staffing are in excellent shape. Under Jan's leadership, Project Pericles has become a well-known and trusted champion for democratic engagement in higher education. With our Periclean colleges and universities, Project Pericles has created real change on hundreds of campuses and in communities.

We hope to utilize the collective wisdom of our Board members, Presidents, Provosts, and Program Directors to join this Executive Director search by identifying qualified candidates and encouraging them to apply. The search will proceed quickly, with the next Executive Director expected to begin no later than May 2024. The mission of Project Pericles has never been more important as it continues to contribute to the health of our democracy and campuses across the country. I am pleased to report that Eugene Tobin, a former president of Hamilton College and a member of the Project Pericles Board of Directors, has agreed to serve as Chair of the search committee. The other committee members are Helen Lang Suskin, Lou Martarano, Lauren McGrail, and Jim Mullen. A list of the full Board of Directors is enclosed.

Attached is the Executive Director Position Opening. Please feel free to distribute it widely. Applications and other correspondence should be emailed to the search committee at ExecutiveDirectorSearch@projectpericles.org. Applications will be considered on a rolling basis, with priority consideration given to applicants who send their submissions by February 10, 2024.

With deep appreciation to Jan for all that she has accomplished,

James H. Mullen, Jr. Chair, Project Pericles Board of Directors

PROJECT PERICLES® BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Eugene M. Lang (1919-2017): Founder and Chair Emeritus

James H. Mullen Jr.: Chair; President Emeritus, Allegheny College; Interim President, Hartwick College

Lauren S. McGrail: Vice-Chair, Executive Director, The Eugene M. Lang Foundation

David A. Caputo: Treasurer; President Emeritus, Pace University

Audrey Bilger Louis A. Martarano

President, Reed College Managing Director, L. Martarano Enterprises

Connie Ledoux Book Lyle D. Roelofs

President, Elon University President Emeritus, Berea College

Ronald B. Cole Lourdes M. Rosado

President, Allegheny College President and General Counsel, LatinoJustice PRLDEF

Marc C. Conner Paul Schadewald

President, Skidmore College Former Project Pericles Program Director, Macalester College;

Richard Ekman Senior Project Manager, Bringing Theory to Practice; ependent Colleges Chair, National Advisory Board, Imagining America

President Emeritus and Senior Advisor, Council of Independent Colleges Chair, Nati

Neil R. Grabois Eugene M. Tobin

Former Vice President, Carnegie Corporation of New York; Former Senior Program Officer, Higher Education and Scholarship in the

Former President, Colgate University Humanities, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation;

Helen Lang Suskin Former President, Hamilton College

Former Vice President, Pfizer Scott L. Warren

Jan R. Liss Visiting Fellow, SNF Agora Institute at Johns Hopkins;

Executive Director, Project Pericles Co-Founder, Generation Citizen

PROJECT PERICLES®.PRESIDENTS' COUNCIL

Ronald B. Cole, Allegheny College New England College, Wayne F. Lesperance, Jr.

Garry W. Jenkins, Bates College The New School, Donna E. Shalala

Cheryl Nixon, Berea College Occidental College, Harry J. Elam Jr.

William Berry, Bethune-Cookman University Pace University, Marvin Krislov

Alison R. Byerly, Carleton College Pitzer College, Strom C. Thacker

Rhonda Phillips, Chatham University
Rochelle L. Ford, Dillard University
Reed College, Audrey Bilger
Rhodes College, Jennifer M. Collins

Hilary L. Link, Drew University Skidmore College, Marc C. Conner

Connie Ledoux Book, Elon University

Swarthmore College, Valerie Smith

John Carmichael, The Evergreen State College Ursinus College, Robyn E. Hannigan

Kent Devereaux, Goucher College Wagner College, Angelo G. Araimo

Edward C. Wingenbach, Hampshire College Whitman College, Sarah R. Bolton

Karen K. Petersen, Hendrix College Widener University, Stacey M. Robertson

Suzanne M. Rivera, Macalester College The College of Wooster, Anne E. McCall

David A. Thomas, Morehouse College

PROJECT PERICLES.® NATIONAL BOARD OF ADVISORS

Co-Chairs: Sen. Nancy Kassebaum Baker & Hon. Kurt L. Schmoke

David Baltimore • John Baugh • J. Herman Blake • Roger W. Bowen • Harry C. Boyte • Sen. Bill Bradley

Paul Brest • Russell L. Carson • Raymond G. Chambers • Nadinne Cruz • Richard A. Detweiler • Christopher F. Edley, Jr.

Thomas Ehrlich • Jonathan F. Fanton • Nicholas H. Farnham • Ellen V. Futter • Richard Guarasci • Llewellyn P. Haden, Jr. • Samuel L. Hayes III

Antonia Hernandez • Gov. Thomas H. Kean • Arthur E. Levine • Reuben Mark • Mary Patterson McPherson • Michael S. McPherson Robert D. Putnam • Judith A. Ramaley • David M. Scobey • Allen P. Splete • Janet Smith Dickerson • Mark A. Vander Ploeg

NATIONAL OFFICE

Jan Risë Liss, Executive Director Arielle M. del Rosario, Associate Director Tyler Levine, Program Operations Associate

IN MEMORIAM

Alison R. Bernstein • Jerome A. Chazen • Gov. Mario M. Cuomo • Curtis B. Gans • Amb. James C. Hormel • Helene L. Kaplan • Clark Kerr Eugene M. Lang • Elizabeth McCormack• Paul Newman • Sen. Paul Simon • Sen. Harris L. Wofford